Grannis for Congress

I hope Reasonable Minds will forgive this intrusion between installments of Tim Peach’s annual equine handicapping extravaganza, but I have some news I want to share.  I am running for Congress.  I will be the Libertarian candidate for Chris Van Hollen’s seat, representing Maryland’s 8th District.  That’s the same Chris Van Hollen who serves as Assistant Speaker, chairs the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, and has a gazillion dollars in campaign contributions already in the bank.  Three strikes, I say.

I would be disappointed if my writings in this space left readers with much question about why I am doing this.  But in case anyone wonders, let me quote my campaign website:

I am running, and running as a Libertarian, because the relentless growth of the federal government under both Democrats and Republicans has brought us to the point of genuine crisis.  Our government can’t pay its bills, but it won’t stop borrowing or spending.  As a result, the government is currently headed for insolvency and collapse.  Our economy badly needs jobs and investment from the private sector, but instead of encouraging private enterprise our elected officials continue to concentrate power and money in Washington.  We need to change course, and we need to change course now.

The new course we should chart is not really new to people who know our history.  It’s actually a return to the values that made our country great.  It’s a return to individual liberty, limited government, economic freedom, and the good sense to mind our own business in military matters.  That’s the Libertarian way forward, and it’s a way that the two major parties both abandoned years ago.

There’s a lot more on the campaign website, and I hope you’ll bookmark it and visit it often, because the content that’s there right now is only a start.

What does this mean for the Reasonable Minds blog?  That remains to be seen, except that I am sure I do not want the blog to become an extension of the campaign.  That is, come November 3, win or lose, I would like for this blog to remain the same sort of online dinner party that it has been for the last four years, as much about civility and poetry as about politics, economics, and horse-racing.  I don’t want comment “trolls” to make the blog unreadable, I don’t want to spend a lot of time enforcing our Comment Guidelines, and I definitely don’t want to be held responsible for uncivil commentary.  So in order to keep things as separate as possible, I intend for this to be the last time I post a blog entry here about my campaign.  Summers are usually a little sleepy here anyway, but this summer you should expect more poetry than usual from me.  (If some of the other authors want to engage on political issues, however, don’t let me stand in the way!)

If, as I hope, there are Reasonable Minds who would like to follow the campaign, there are three very good ways to do it.  First, Facebook users can “like” the “Grannis for Congress — Less We Can” page.  That’s where I’ll be posting links to great libertarian commentary on current developments, as well as announcing upcoming campaign events in the 8th District.

Second, Twitter users can follow the campaign on Twitter; the handle is @LessWeCan.  I confess I’m still getting the hang of Twitter, but I expect to be using it for event announcements and for quick dissemination of first-reactions to breaking news.

Finally, Reasonable Minds like my mom, who don’t use Facebook or Twitter, can go to the campaign website and add themselves to the e-mail distribution list.  (Funny, isn’t it, that e-mail is now the lowest-tech way to stay in touch?)

That’s about it.  The time is short and the odds are long.  Wish me luck.

2 Responses to “Grannis for Congress”

  1. George Peacock Says:

    If you want to skip the poetry, we understand.

    As for the Campaign, good luck!

  2. Mark Esswein Says:

    Since I live on the other side of the Cohonguroton, all I can do is say Good Luck!

    My disagreeing with much of your platform, notwithstanding, I’ll be genuinely curious to see how it plays out in “The People’s Republic of Montgomery County.”


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

