Valentine’s Day in the Poetry Corner

It’s funny:  The longer I’m married, the better this poem gets.

My Luve is like a Red, Red Rose

by Robert Burns

O my Luve’s like a red, red rose,
That’s newly sprung in June:
O my Luve’s like the melodie,
That’s sweetly play’d in tune.

As fair art thou, my bonie lass,
So deep in luve am I;
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
Till a’ the seas gang dry.

Till a’ the seas gang dry , my dear,
And the rocks melt wi’ the sun;
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
While the sands o’ life shall run.

And fare-thee-weel, my only Luve !
And fare-thee-weel, a while!
And I will come again, my Luve,
Tho’ ’twere ten thousand mile!

4 Responses to “Valentine’s Day in the Poetry Corner”

  1. George Says:

    That Robert Burns was a good writer but he sure coulda used spellcheck.

  2. jim walsh Says:

    I forget where I got this, but:

    To keep your marriage brimming
    With love in the loving cup,
    Whenever you’re wrong, admit it;
    Whenever you’re right, shut up.

    And this is by Leah Furnas, from “To Love One Another,” Grayson Books:

    The Longly-Weds Know

    That it isn’t about the Golden Anniversary at all,
    But about all the unremarkable years
    that Hallmark doesn’t even make a card for.

    It’s about the 2nd anniversary when they were surprised
    to find they cared for each other more than last year

    And the 4th when both kids had chickenpox
    and she threw her shoe at him for no real reason

    And the 6th when he accidentally got drunk on the way
    home from work because being a husband and father
    was so damn hard

    It’s about the 11th and 12th and 13th years when
    they discovered they could survive crisis

    And the 22nd anniversary when they looked
    at each other across the empty nest, and found it good.

    It’s about the 37th year when she finally
    decided she could never change him

    And the 38th when he decided
    a little change wasn’t that bad

    It’s about the 46th anniversary when they both
    bought cards, and forgot to give them to each other

    But most of all it’s about the end of the 49th year
    when they discovered you don’t have to be old

    to have your 50th anniversary!!!!

  3. Mark Grannis Says:

    Two great additions, Jim — thanks.

    BTW, I wanted to feature the Georgetown Chimes’ musical rendition of Burns’s poem, from their ca. 2000 album “Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Chime.” But WordPress would not allow me to upload the mp3, which probably saved me from several layers of copyright violations.

    For those who can’t find their copy of the Chimes’ version, iTunes has a passable version by Eva Cassidy.

  4. Timothy Peach Says:

    I’m sticking with what my father told me:

    “Brim, don’t do it. It’s worth 15 cents a shot, and it costs you your whole life.”

    In a sense, he was right, but in another he was not. “Father, I’m about to get married, but please tell me before I do….. will I be happy?”

    “Yes, my son, of course you will. You just won’t know it.”


Comments are closed.

